
Tobacco and the Law 
 
Tobacco Laws in California 
 
Labor Code 6404.5 - This law states that smoking is illegal in bars, bar/restaurant 
combinations, gaming clubs and any “enclosed” workplace in California.  If the health 
department receives a complaint at one of these establishments, and it is determined that 
smoking is occurring, they are subject to the following fines: 
First violation - $100 
Second violation within one year - $200 
Third violation within one year - $500 per violation; after a third violation in one year, 
cases are referred to the California Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Cal-
OSHA) where penalties range up to $7,000 per violation. 
If you want to log a complaint regarding smoking in the workplace or bar or restaurant, 
you can call Placer County at (530) 889-7216. 
 
PC 308 a – Prohibits the sale of tobacco products to minors (under the age of 18).  Placer 
County Tobacco Prevention works in conjunction with the Sheriff’s and Police 
Departments in Auburn and Tahoe to conduct youth purchase surveys.  During the youth 
purchase survey, underage youth are sent into the store either wired or with an 
undercover officer and try to purchase tobacco from the clerk.  If the clerk sells, the 
officer can give storeowners and/or clerks a warning or citation.   
First offense - $200 
Second offense - $500  
Third offense - $1,000    
If you want to log a complaint regarding a place selling tobacco to a minor, have a 
question about the law, or are 15-17 years of age and would like to participate in a youth 
purchase survey, call Placer County Tobacco Prevention Program at (530) 889-7196. 
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