
UNIFIED PROGRAM ELECTRONIC REPORTING SURCHARGE 
 
What is electronic reporting? 
In 2008 a new law took effect that will require all regulated businesses and all regulated local 
government agencies, called Unified Program Agencies (UPA), to use the Internet to file require 
Unified Program information now filed by paper forms.  This includes facility data regarding 
hazardous material regulatory activities, chemical inventories, underground and aboveground 
storage tanks, and hazardous waste generation.  It also includes UPA data such as inspections 
and enforcement actions.   
 
When do businesses have to file electronically? 
All regulated businesses and Unified Program Agencies in the State of California must use the 
Internet to file by January 1, 2013.  The earliest electronic filers will start using the statewide 
system, called the California Environmental Reporting System (CERS) in September of 2009.  
Based on when your UPA is able to receive the data from the state system, they will determine 
when electronic reporting is mandatory locally and paper-filing is no longer an option.   After 
CERS is available, businesses may voluntarily use it to enter and store their filing information, 
but may still have to print paper forms from CERS to file with their UPAs.  If you have not been 
contacted by your local UPA with information regarding the use of CERS, it is highly 
recommended that businesses contact their local UPA for additional information. 
  
What is the electronic reporting surcharge and how much is it? 
All regulated businesses now pay a minimum state surcharge fee of $24 to their UPA.  To pay 
for the costs of implementing electronic reporting statewide, the legislature is temporarily 
increasing the minimum surcharge by $25 per year for three years.  The additional money will be 
used for system development, outreach & training, and technical support for UPAs to be able to 
accept the information electronically.  This means that the amount of your minimum state 
surcharge will increase from $24 per year to $49 per year.  Your CUPA will add this electronic 
reporting surcharge to your next three annual billing statements.  You will continue to pay the 
state surcharge to your UPA, in addition to your local UPA fees. 
 
How will electronic reporting help businesses? 
Statewide electronic reporting through the Internet will allow: 
• Regulated businesses will be able to easily maintain and update their regulatory information. 
• Environmental consultants will be able to electronically file for businesses. 
• Multi-jurisdictional businesses will be able to file in one place through CERS.   
• Businesses will save time by not processing and reentering data already in CERS. 
• Businesses can save space storing paper because it is in an accessible electronic file. 
• Response agencies can access the information at any time, saving businesses from duplicate 

filing requirements. 
 
How does a business get started? 
First, talk to your local UPA.  They will have more information about local timing and 
requirements.  The UPAs will also be providing information through their local business 
outreach programs as electronic reporting is implemented around the state.  Detailed help pages, 
wizards and an online tutorial are also being built into CERS in early 2010.  Finally, information 
on electronic reporting requirements is being developed by CalEPA and will be posted on the 
Electronic Reporting web page at www.calepa.ca.gov/CUPA.  You should check your local UPA 
web site and this one for additional information. 

http://www.calepa.ca.gov/CUPA


 
 
The information in this flyer is available in the following languages on the CalEPA website: 
Spanish, Arabic, Hindi, Urdu, Farsi, Russian, Chinese, Korean, Tagalog, Thai, and Laotian. 
 
 


